Step 1: how many kWh do you need?
A battery should be able to cover your evening and night consumption, not your whole summer surplus: ten panels produce 15 kWh on an average June day, an average home battery stores about 6 kWh. Note the difference between nominal and usable capacity: nominal is what fits in the cells, usable is what you actually get out. How to calculate is explained in calculating home battery capacity.
Do not feel like calculating? The battery match asks a few questions and suggests suitable models.
Not sure whether a home battery is worth it for you? Read that first, and only then choose a model.
Step 2: power (W), how fast does it charge and deliver?
Capacity (kWh) is the size of the tank, power (W) the tap. Most plug-and-play models in our shop list 800 W as the standard power to the grid (Hoymiles 800 VA). Some can deliver more, see the "Power to grid" column in the table below. Why 800 W is the standard is explained in connecting a plug-and-play home battery safely.
Step 3: plug-and-play or with installation?
You connect a plug-and-play battery yourself. The fire brigade advises connecting it directly to an earthed socket, without an extension cord or power strip, and preferably on a separate circuit. With a system with installation, an installer connects the battery.
| Plug-and-play | With installation | |
|---|---|---|
| Connection | Earthed socket, preferably a separate circuit (fire brigade) | An installer connects the system |
| Capacity in our shop | 1.92 to 18.086 kWh | 5.12 to 60 kWh, depending on the configuration |
| Phase | 1-phase per unit | 1-phase or 3-phase systems |
| Borrowing via the Warmtefonds | No, plug&play batteries are excluded | Possible, if you have solar panels or have them installed at the same time (Warmtefonds conditions) |
| Option | For selected models you can add a professional 1-phase installation (installation) | Installation is part of the package |
Step 4: meter and control
A battery that reads your consumption, via a P1 meter or your own smart meter, can charge and discharge better around your own use. The Marstek Venus E 3.0 with P1 meter reads your consumption and feed-in in real time. If you want to control on a dynamic contract, check whether the model supports it. In our product data only the TSUN PowerTrunk lists a "Dynamic Tariff" mode. More in home battery and dynamic contract.
Step 5: lifetime and warranty
Compare the stated number of cycles and the warranty in the table below. They are manufacturer statements. How to read those numbers, and what "60% EOL" and "90% DoD" mean, is explained in lifetime, warranty and degradation. According to our product data, all plug-and-play models in our shop use LFP cells (LiFePO4); see LFP home battery.
Comparison: plug-and-play models in our shop
Source: the product specifications in the shop, product data as of 11 October 2026 (manufacturer data). Prices are in the shop.
| Model | Capacity | Usable | Power to grid | Expansion | Meter | Cycles (stated) | Warranty (stated) | IP | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hoymiles HiBattery 1920 AC | 1.92 kWh | not stated | 800 VA | no expansion listed | not stated | ≥ 6,000 | 10 years | IP66 | 24 kg |
| Hyxi Halo 3 kWh | 3.014 kWh | not stated | 800 W standard / 1,500 W premium | Modular up to 18.086 kWh (6 modules) | Smart meter optimisation (see datasheet) | ≥ 10,000 (60% EOL) | 10 years | IP66 | 28 kg |
| Hyxi Halo 6 / 9 / 12 / 15 / 18 kWh | 6.029 to 18.086 kWh | not stated | 800 W standard / 1,500 W premium | Same stack, up to 18.086 kWh | Smart meter optimisation (see datasheet) | ≥ 10,000 (60% EOL) | 10 years | IP66 | Main unit 28 kg, module 26 kg |
| Marstek Venus E 3.0 with P1 | 5.12 kWh | about 4.61 kWh (90% DoD) | 800 W standard / 2,500 W max | Max. 3 per phase; with SmartBox up to 9 across 3 phases | CT003 P1 meter included | 6,000+ | according to the manufacturer | IP65 | 60 kg |
| Marstek Venus E 3.0 without P1 | 5.12 kWh | about 4.61 kWh (90% DoD) | 800 W standard / 2,500 W max | Max. 3 per phase; with SmartBox up to 9 across 3 phases | P1 meter not included | 6,000+ | according to the manufacturer | IP65 | 60 kg |
| TSUN PowerTrunk MAU5000 | 5.12 kWh | not stated | max. 2,500 W | Max. 4 units on one phase | See datasheet for meter options | 6,000 | according to the manufacturer | IP65 | 52 kg |
| AEG Solarcube AS-BBL08 | 6.028 kWh | about 5.43 kWh (90% DoD) | 800 W standard / 1,500 W premium | no expansion listed | not stated | > 10,000 (60% EOL) | 10 years technical / 15 years lifetime | IP66 | 54 kg (complete) |
Comparison: systems with installation
For these systems we match the battery modules and the inverter to your home. The final configuration follows in your proposal.
| System | Phase | Capacity (configuration) |
|---|---|---|
| HYXI Aura 1-phase | 1-phase | 7.03 to 54 kWh |
| HYXI Aura 3-phase | 3-phase | 7.03 to 54 kWh |
| KSTAR BluE-S | 1-phase | 5.12 to 20.48 kWh |
| KSTAR E8KT / E10KT / E12KT | 3-phase | 10.24 to 40.96 kWh |
| Sungrow PowerHarbor | 3-phase | 6 to 60 kWh |
Decision tree: which way to go?
Use the table as a first filter. The thresholds are rules of thumb from our capacity explanation, not a standard. Work with your own consumption.
| Your situation | Look at |
|---|---|
| You use little in the evening (less than about 3 kWh) | A small plug-and-play battery (1.92 to 3 kWh), or start with one Halo module |
| You use around 4 to 6 kWh in the evening | A plug-and-play battery around 5 to 6 kWh |
| You use more, or you want to expand a lot later | A modular stack or a system with installation |
| You have a 3-phase home and high consumption | A 3-phase system with installation |
| You want to borrow via the Warmtefonds | Only systems that an installer connects |
When is a home battery not a good choice?
If you mainly want to save money: Milieu Centraal expects that you most likely will not earn back a home battery at the moment. If you can still take steps in insulation or are considering a heat pump, Milieu Centraal says those choices are regret-free. If you already use a large part of your solar power directly during the day, there is less surplus left to store. According to Milieu Centraal, using more of your own solar power directly is more environmentally friendly than buying a home battery.
More on what a battery does and does not do is in what is a home battery.
Know what you are looking for?
View all home batteries, the systems with installation, or take the battery match.
Sources
- Milieu Centraal: Home battery, storing solar energy: cover evening and night consumption, 15 kWh output on a June day versus 6 kWh storage, most likely not earned back, insulation and heat pump regret-free, using more solar power directly; last changed 28-09-2026 (accessed on 2026-10-18)
- Brandweer: Plug-and-play home battery: directly into an earthed socket, without an extension cord or power strip, preferably a separate circuit (accessed on 2026-10-18)
- Nationaal Warmtefonds: Home battery: loan for a home battery that an installer connects (no plug&play battery), with solar panels present or installed at the same time (accessed on 2026-10-18)

