Why does a home battery wear out?
Over time a battery can store fewer kWh than when it was new. We call that wear. How fast that happens differs per model, and no general lifespan in years can be given. What the manufacturer states for cycles and warranty is in this article per model.
The type of battery you choose also plays a part. Most home batteries are lithium batteries, usually of the LFP (lithium iron phosphate) type. All plug-and-play batteries in our shop are LFP, see LFP or NMC home battery.
How do you read the specifications?
Product pages use terms such as cycles, EOL and DoD. Without an explanation, models are hard to compare. These are the main ones.
| Term | Meaning | Example from our product data |
|---|---|---|
| Cycle | Charging and discharging the full capacity once. How a manufacturer counts exactly is stated in the datasheet. | See the table further down |
| Cycles (stated) | The number of cycles the manufacturer states. It comes with a remaining capacity (the EOL value). For some models that is not in our product data. | "≥ 10,000 (60% EOL)" |
| EOL (end of life) | The end of the battery's life. The Hyxi and AEG datasheets list '60% EOL' without explaining it. We read that as: the cycles apply until the battery has 60% of its original capacity left. If in doubt, ask the manufacturer to confirm. | Hyxi Halo, AEG Solarcube |
| DoD (depth of discharge) | Which part of the capacity you may use. At 90% DoD you get about 4.61 kWh out of 5.12 kWh (5.12 × 0.9). | Marstek Venus E 3.0 |
| Warranty | What the manufacturer promises, often in years. The terms decide what exactly is covered, so read them. | "10 years" or "according to the manufacturer" |
Worked example: what do cycles say in years?
Assumptions: you charge and discharge exactly one full cycle every day of the year, and the battery reaches the stated number of cycles.
6,000 cycles ÷ 365 = about 16 years. 10,000 cycles ÷ 365 = about 27 years.
This is an indication, not a promise. In practice the result can differ, because stated figures are measured down to different remaining capacities, or the value is not given. So look at the EOL value and at the warranty too.
Stated cycles and warranty per model (our shop)
The figures below are manufacturer statements, as they appear in our product specifications (product data as of 2026-10-11). They are not promises from Voltravo.
| Model | Cycles (stated) | Measured down to | Warranty (stated) | Usable (stated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hyxi Halo 3 to 18 kWh | ≥ 10,000 | 60% EOL | 10 years | not stated |
| AEG Solarcube AS-BBL08 | > 10,000 | 60% EOL | 10 years technical; 15 years lifespan or > 10,000 cycles, whichever comes first | about 5.43 kWh (90% DoD) |
| Hoymiles HiBattery 1920 AC | ≥ 6,000 | not stated | 10 years | not stated |
| Marstek Venus E 3.0 | 6,000+ | not stated | according to the manufacturer (term not in our product data) | about 4.61 kWh (90% DoD) |
| TSUN PowerTrunk MAU5000 | 6,000 | not stated | according to the manufacturer (term not in our product data) | not stated |
What should you watch for in use and placement?
How long a battery lasts depends on the model, the control and the use. You can take this into account yourself.
Choose a stable location. According to the fire brigade, home batteries are sensitive to temperature fluctuations and work most efficiently at a stable temperature. What to look for in the location itself is covered in placing a home battery fire-safely.
Keep the software up to date. The fire brigade advises checking from time to time whether the battery still works properly and whether software updates are available.
Choose a battery that fits your consumption. How to work that out is covered in calculating home battery capacity.
Follow the manual of the model for charging settings and placement. The temperature range is listed per model in the specifications.
Which warranty do you have?
You always have a statutory warranty. When you buy a product, you always have a statutory warranty. There is no statutory warranty period in the Netherlands: what counts is how long you may expect a product to last, and that depends on all the properties of your purchase, such as the price, the type of product and promises made by the manufacturer.
If a product breaks sooner than is reasonable, the seller must fix it for you free of charge: with a repair, a replacement or a refund. The statutory warranty runs through the seller: only the seller has to give a statutory warranty, not the manufacturer. Ordinary wear is not covered: if a product has simply worn out through normal use, you have no right to a free repair, according to the Rijksoverheid.
Burden of proof: if something goes wrong within 12 months of purchase, the seller must prove that it is your fault. After that, you must prove that it is not your fault and that it lies with the product.
A manufacturer warranty comes on top of that: it is an addition to the statutory warranty you already have. The manufacturer or seller chooses the terms and the duration itself. If those terms give you fewer rights than the law, your statutory right takes precedence.
Installing it yourself: whether connecting it yourself affects the manufacturer warranty depends on the manual and the terms of the model. Also read how to connect a plug-and-play home battery.
This is not legal advice. Questions about an order? Get in touch with us.
Sources
- Milieu Centraal: home battery, storing solar energy: most home batteries are lithium batteries, usually LFP; last changed 28-09-2026 (accessed on 2026-10-18)
- Rijksoverheid: which warranties do I have on a product?: always a statutory warranty, no statutory warranty period, burden of proof within and after 12 months, manufacturer warranty as an addition, no right to a free repair for ordinary wear (accessed on 2026-10-18)
- ACM ConsuWijzer: warranty: statutory warranty with no fixed term, what you may expect, seller fixes free of charge, only the seller gives the statutory warranty, manufacturer or seller chooses the terms and duration of its own warranty (accessed on 2026-10-18)
- ACM ConsuWijzer: burden of proof for a broken product: burden of proof with the seller in the first year, statutory right takes precedence when warranty terms give fewer rights (accessed on 2026-10-18)
- Fire brigade: plug-and-play home battery: sensitive to temperature fluctuations, stable temperature, check for software updates (accessed on 2026-10-18)

